A licensee who is initially licensed as a provisional broker is required to complete the North Carolina Real Estate Commission's Post-Licensing Education Program within the first 18 months of their licensure. This program consists of three individual classes which are all 30 hours in length including a final examination. Once satisfactory completion of the courses has been made, a licensee will no longer have the "provisional" status on their license.
If all three 30 hour courses have not been completed by the 18th month after date of licensure, the licensee will go to Inactive status. There is no prerequisite for post-licensing courses. They may be taken either before or after passing the licensing examination. All post-licensing students must present their license card or documentation of their license number from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.
The courses may be taken in any order and commencement of the courses may happen immediately after initial licensure as a provisional broker.
This course will be taught live online via a webinar style meeting. Students will be required to have a stable high speed internet connection, a device capable of accessing the webinar, and a webcam/microphone for student interaction.
The book for Post Licensing is the most current edition of the Real Estate Manual. This is available for online subscription at NCREC.gov from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.
You'll need your card on the first day of class. If you do not have this card, you can reprint it by logging into your NCREC broker or BIC online account and selecting "Print Duplicate Pocket Card" from the main account menu.
If you can't remember which Post-Licensing classes you've already taken, you can find that information when you log in to your NCREC account.
CLASS CREDIT REPORTING: Please allow up to 15 days after completing your course for the Real Estate Commission to record your credit. The Pan School of Real Estate will report your course completion to the Commission for you. The certificate is for your records.
The Broker Relationships and Responsibilities course is one of the three 30-classroom hour mandatory Postlicensing courses that must be completed by newly licensed North Carolina provisional brokers within three years after licensure. The primary objective of the course is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Prelicensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance to licensees. Topics addressed in this course include a review of agency relationships in real estate sales transactions and a real estate broker’s legal duties to clients and customers, a step-by-step review and discussion of the functions and responsibilities of a real estate broker when working with residential sellers and buyers, a review of issues associated with transactions in progress when a broker leaves a firm, and a review of license status and education issues.
The Contracts and Closing Course is one of the three 30-classroom hour mandatory Postlicensing courses that must be completed by newly licensed North Carolina provisional brokers within three years after licensure. The primary objective of the course is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Prelicensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance to licensees. Topics addressed in this course include selected basic contract law concepts, real estate sales contract preparation, sales contract procedures, buyer’s due diligence, closing procedures, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, closing disclosure preparation, contracts for deed, options, and selected real estate license status and education issues.
The NC Law, Rules, and Legal Concepts Course is one of the three 30-classroom hour mandatory Postlicensing courses that must be completed by newly licensed North Carolina provisional brokers within three years after licensure. The primary objective of the course is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Prelicensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance to licensees. Topics addressed in this course include commercial real estate brokerage, residential property management, land use controls, loan fraud, brokerage compensation issues, license law issues and case studies, selected fair housing issues and case studies, establishing a brokerage firm, manufactured and modular homes, and issues relating to short sales.
The school follows the North Carolina Real Estate Commission's policy that all students must attend a minimum of 80% of the scheduled class instruction time for any course. Attendance will be taken at every class session and any student who misses more than 20% of the scheduled class meeting time will not be eligible to sit for the final examination in that course. Time cannot be "traded" from other courses of the same title. A student must attend 80% of the scheduled class instruction time for the class in which that student is registered. This does not mean that students are expected or encouraged to miss any class time. All students are expected to be in every class session and will be solely responsible for the material missed during any absence.
Each of the pre-licensing courses offered by the school has a mandatory end of course examination. Students will be eligible to sit for the examination if they have met the above attendance requirements and they have completed all in-class and homework assignments over the duration of the course. The final grade of the course is based entirely on the score of the student's final examination. In Broker Pre-Licensing classes, students must obtain a score of 80% or better in order to pass the course.
Should a student fail an end of course examination, one re-take opportunity will be provided by the school within 30 days of the initial test date. This examination will be of the same type and length as the original, but will consist of different examination questions. Scheduling of re-take exams will be at the convenience of the school.
Once any course offered by the school is successfully completed, the student will receive a course completion certificate and their status will be updated with the North Carolina Real Estate Commission so that they may apply to sit for the state licensing examination.
Continuing Education - $95 for 8 hours when you preregister online or over the phone before the day of class! Walk ins are not eligible for this discount. Classes must occur on the same day, in-person to qualify.
Broker Post-Licensing - $215 for each course or $560 for all three! (To receive the discounted price, the full amount of $560 must be paid when registering for the first Post-Licensing class.)
Military Discount -We are proud to support our troops and offer a 25% discount to all active Military members or Veterans! Please call us at (919) 301-8764 for details.
The Military discount, if applicable, is extended from the Pan School of Real Estate and applies to tuition at the Pan School of Real Estate only. Any reporting fees or other costs associated with the NC Real Estate Commission are not discounted.